Shopping Cart

Find the mood & scale that suits you

Many makers invent their own names for already named scales, thus a jungle of terms has been created, which makes it difficult to understand. Here we list the most common scales and describe them in a few words.

Kurd / Annaziska: 

For us one of the most varied minor scales. In D minor and E minor it is called "Kurd", in C sharp (C#) it is called "Annaziska". Here we learn what harmonic diversity means, because even on an 8 notation 6 full chords can be played here. From dreamy to mystical and up to happy and hopeful. With a Kurd / Annaziska you can express all your feelings. Here Malte plays on a C# Annaziska Handpan by Gio:

Celtic / Amara:

The Celtic Minor or Amara is based on the scale that is common in traditional Celtic music. The absence of the sixth makes this scale even more intuitive and harmonious. Suitable for every beginner. Here the sound example of a D Amara Handpan from Gio, which you can also find in our shop.

Mystic:

The scale "Mystic" was our beginner model for the two of us. A mystic atmosphere is created by the absence of the seventh. Ideal for a flowing, rhythmic game.

Pygmy:

Due to the pentatonic the Pygmy is a very harmonic scale, which invites you to dream and float away. A touch of melancholy that shines through the player as if in a dream. This impression is confirmed in the following video by Malte, in which he enhances his Pygmy Handpan with effects.

Low Pygmy:

A deeper variation of "Pygmy", in the ring around the thing starting at the second. This requires a different way of playing, which in our opinion is especially suitable for melodic playing. We recommend it to advanced players*. For pure Low Pygmy sounds listen to the song by Yatao, in which Malte and Alex each play on an F Low Pygmy Handpan:

Asha / Ashakiran:

"Asha" is literally translated as "hope" and "Ashakiran" as "ray of hope". She animates to happy, light, melancholic, hopeful melodies. While the Asha classical has only 8 tones on the upper shell, the Ashakiran is extended by a ninth tone on that one and receives at least three tones on the lower shell. Especially the second and third in the lower range and the fourth in the upper, complete the already rich Asha to a Handpan that leaves nothing to be desired. A very nice insight into the Ashakiran sounds is offered by the following video by Yatao, in which Malte and Alex play on a D Ashakiran Handpan by Ayasa:

Hijaz:

We often describe them with the adjective "spicy". The small second between first and second stage is responsible for the fact that a typical oriental sound is created. Suitable for percussive playing and oriental or even Spanish sounding melodies.

Harmonic minor:

This scale is also a bit "spicy". The tone structure is similar to that of the "Kurd" or "Annaziska", except that here the seventh is increased and thus gives the oriental flavour. On this scale you can play wonderfully melodic as well as percussive. In combination with a Digeridoo, you can listen to a Soulshine C Hijaz Handpan here - have fun with Yatao: 

Our assessment:

If you mainly want to play together with other people, a "D minor" hand pan is recommended. Classical scales are "Kurd", "Amara" or "Celtic Minor", "Mystic". This key is very popular and widespread in Western Europe, which makes it easy to play together.

In other parts of the world, for example, Arabic scales like 'Hijaz' or 'Harmonic Minor' are more in demand.

Warenkorb

Finde die Stimmung, die zu Dir passt

Viele Hersteller erfinden ihre eigenen Namen für schon benannte Scales, somit ist ein Urwald aus Begrifflichkeiten entstanden, der den Durchblick erschwert. Wir zählen hier die gängisten Skalen auf und beschreiben sie mit einigen Worten.


Kurd / Annaziska: 

Für uns eine der vielfältigsten Moll Scales. In D-Moll und E-Moll wird sie „Kurd“ genannt, in Cis (C#) wird sie „Annaziska“ genannt. Hier erfahren wir was harmonische Vielfalt bedeutet, denn auch auf einem 8 Noter können hier 6 vollständige Akkorde gespielt werden. Von träumerisch über mystisch bis hinzu fröhlich und hoffnungsvoll. Mit einer Kurd / Annaziska kannst du all deinen Gefühlen Ausdruck verleihen. Hier spielt Malte auf einer C# Annaziska Handpan von Gio:

Celtic / Amara:

Die Celtic Minor oder auch Amara basiert auf der Tonleiter die in der traditionell keltischen Musik üblich ist. Durch das fehlen der Sexte wird diese Skala noch intuitiver und harmonischer. Geeignet für jede*n Einsteiger*in. Hier das Klangbeispiel einer D Amara Handpan von Gio, die du auch bei uns um Shop findest.

Mystic:

Die Skala „Mystic“ war für uns zwei unser Einsteiger Modell. Eine mystische Stimmung wird erzeugt durch das fehlen der Septime. Ideal geeignet für ein fließendes, rhythmisches Spiel.

Pygmy:

Durch die Pentatonic ist die Pygmy eine sehr harmonische Skala, die einlädt zum träumen und wegschweben. Ein Hauch Melancholie, die wie im Traum schemenhaft durch den Spieler hindurch scheint. Dieser Eindruck bestätigt sich im folgenden Video von Malte, in welchem er seine Pygmy Handpan mit Effekten verstärkt.

Low Pygmy:

Eine tiefere Variation der „Pygmy“, im Ring um den Ding beginnend auf der Sekunde. Dadurch wird eine andere Spielweise erfordert, die in unseren Augen vor allem für melodiöses Spiel geeignet ist. Wir empfehlen sie fortgeschrittenen Spieler*innen. Für pure Low Pygmy Klänge höre Dir den Song von Yatao an, in dem Malte und Alex jeweils auf einer F Low Pygmy Handpan spielen:

Asha / Ashakiran:

“Asha” wird wörtlich übersetzt als “Hoffnung”, und “Ashakiran” als “Strahl der Hoffnung”. Sie annimiert zu fröhlichen, leichten, melancholischen, hoffnungsvollen Melodien. Während bei der Asha klassisch nur 8 Töne auf der Oberschale sind, wird die Ashakiran durch einen neunten Ton auf jener erweitert und erhält mindestens drei Töne auf der Unterseite. Vor allem die Sekunde und Terz im unteren Tonbereich und die Quarte im Oberen, vervollständigen die sonst schon so reiche Asha zu einer Handpan, die keine Wünsche offen lässt. Einen sehr schönen Einblick in die Ashakiran Klänge bietet Dir das folgende Video von Yatao, in dem Malte und Alex auf einer D Ashakiran Handpan von Ayasa spielen:

 

Hijaz:

Wir beschreiben sie häufig mit dem Adjektiv “spicy”. Die kleine Sekunde zwischen erster und zweiter Stufe ist verantwortlich dafür, dass ein typisch orientalischer Klang entsteht. Geeignet für perkussives Spiel und orientalisch oder auch spanisch klingende Melodien. 


Harmonisch Moll:

Auch diese Scale ist etwas “spicy”. Vom Tonaufbau ähnlich wie die “Kurd” oder “Annaziska”, nur dass hier die Septime erhöht wird und somit den orientalischen Flavour verleiht. Auf dieser Scale kann wunderbar melodiös als auch perkussiv gespielt werden. Im Zusammenspiel mit einem Digeridoo, kannst du Dir hier eine Soulshine C Hijaz Handpan anhören - viel Spaß mit Yatao:

 

Unsere Einschätzung:

Wenn du vor allem mit anderen Menschen zusammen spielen möchtest empfiehlt sich eine „D-Moll“ Handpan. Klassische Scales sind „Kurd“, „Amara“ oder „Celtic Minor“, „Mystic“. Diese Tonart ist in Westeuropa sehr beliebt und weit verbreitet, was das Zusammenspiel leicht möglich macht.

In anderen Teilen der Erde sind zum Beispiel arabische Tonleitern wie 'Hijaz' oder 'Harmonisch Moll‘ eher gefragt.

German
DE